Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Smell of Smoke
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Navjot

USA
4 Posts

Posted - Apr 17 2011 :  01:30:51 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi, I am new to this website. I came across Advanced Yoga Book Vol. 1 by accident and am currently reading AYP Volume 2. I started practicing AYP meditation since November '10. My life has totally changed for the better. I have been experiencing deep inner silence and a strong bhakti. But for the past two weeks I have been noticing the smell of smoke during meditation; neither my husband nor I smoke. Furthermore, since yesterday, the smell of smoke has been present all day long, even at work. The smell was so strong that it even hurt my nose. Has any of you had the same experience? I wonder if it is related to my meditation.

Thanks,
Navjot

Shanti

USA
4854 Posts

Posted - Apr 17 2011 :  09:02:21 AM  Show Profile  Visit Shanti's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome to the AYP forums, Navjot.

Purification can show up in any form .. including smell of smoke (I used to smell rotten garbage for a while).

As we continue with meditation and pranayama, we will be clearing out our system, that includes the sinuses. At times, we have a lot of junk stored up in our sinuses, and as we continue with our practices, the stuff stored up will clear out. In a way it is a sinus infection. But not necessarily the kind that you will need to get on medication for. If it continues and it is bothersome, you can get it checked. But these generally go away by themselves. It may linger on for a bit though.

The other suggestion is to try jala neti. http://www.aypsite.org/313.html
Go to Top of Page

miguel

Spain
1197 Posts

Posted - Apr 17 2011 :  10:05:48 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply