Enlightenment Milestones
 oneness vs. yamas and niyamas
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

pureconsciousness

USA
1 Posts

Posted - Dec 27 2010 :  07:11:10 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have been practicing yoga for about 20 years and adopted the AYP methods about 2 years ago with excellent results. The same can be said of my friend, who has now attained a state of oneness during meditation since practicing AYP.

Since the beginning of my yoga practice I was taught that yogis should be established in the yamas and niyamas, the basic code of goodness which means you don't lie, steal, cheat, covet, etc. The problem is my friend basically disregards these precepts and does whatever she wants, lying to people regularly, being irresponsible, not supporting her child, among other things.

The result of this has been that I now question a lot of the basic teachings. If it's true you can attain oneness without being established in these precepts, what else isn't true? It's really shaken my faith in the yogic teachings even to the point where I can't trust that the established monks and advanced practitioners are telling me the truth.

I just wanted some guidance from somebody who may be able to help me with how to deal with this. Thanks.

Clear White Light

USA
229 Posts

Posted - Dec 27 2010 :  11:52:20 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply