Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 New here
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

journeyman

Australia
2 Posts

Posted - Nov 21 2010 :  01:27:52 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi everyone.

I have been practising ayp yoga on and off for a couple of years.

What I have been doing for a year or so, is short light meditation on the train each morning as I go to college This tends to put me in a good spirit for the rest of the day, even if its a very light and somewhat disturbed meditation.

Recently (last 2 weeks) I have been doing a good solid *I AM* meditation for 20 minutes twice a day. My question is I have tried a number of times to do pranayama, but its never been comfortable for me. I tried to be as gentle as possible with the breathing, but end up over breathing or under breathing. The result is usually soreness of the lung area which tends to last awhile after woods.

Before I did ayp I use to do a visulation technique for moving the energy from the root to the third eye. There is no controlled breathing for this. The technique involved imagining a white light or coloured light and bring this light from the base to the third eye and back down again.

Could I use that before my DM? I would also like to add mulabandha with that visulation technique.

Thanks
Rich

Medea

Netherlands
115 Posts

Posted - Nov 21 2010 :  03:29:30 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Journeyman,

welcome to the forums! In AYP, additional practices are added only when you are stable in you current ones, so difficulties are prevented. Two weeks for getting stable is too short for most, which seems to be in accordance with you experience :) My advise would be to leave SBP alone for a few weeks, give the mantra some sufficient time to settle in, and try again later. There is a good chance that the problems you experience now won't be present then.