Bhakti and Karma Yoga
 Fuel the Desire
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Kite

USA
18 Posts

Posted - Nov 17 2010 :  4:58:42 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi all,

I am new to the AYP approach and have been practicing fairly regularly for about 4 months. I also have an identical twin sister who has been practicing for about 8 months, with extreme success from the start it seemed. I'm confused as I'm finding it increasingly difficult to sit down and do my meditations (3 minutes SB/15 minutes DM/3-5 minutes samyama 2 times per day). I posted earlier about my issues with comparing my results to my sister's, which I've been training my mind to stop doing; however, I have one question remaining:

Pulled this from one of Yogani's lessons, not sure which, apologies: "All the Books, Gurus, Ashrams are useful, but you have to truly believe, to have unwavering faith fuelled by burning desire, then it will happen there is no way it cannot." I personally, do not yet have this strong desire (bahkti?). In order to overcome the thinking mind, though (and unfortunately I have a terribly powerful thinking mind), I realize I definitely need to continue on the path of AYP, despite the fact that this fueling desire is not present. Is there a way I can find this desire? Or another approach one with "weak bahkti" can use to add fuel to the fire? I apologize if I've missed a post somewhere about this issue. I have read about many people having to overcome the initial hardships of staying on the AYP path, but it seemed that they, at least, had the fire of desire burning within them at all times.