Other Systems and Alternate Approaches
 Zen/The Genesis Prayer/and Samyama
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Rael

USA
173 Posts

Posted - Nov 15 2010 :  8:21:43 PM  Show Profile  Visit Rael's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi Dear friends!

Sorry to be away so long, just still trying to straighten my path, do practices and deal with mundane "biggies"....Lordie!

Anyway, i am glad to see that Yogani's beautiful work is still going strong and bubbling through his huge posse' here!

For myself, i would like to ask opinions on these these matters:

I am studying with a school now that asks me to sit Zazen every day (Zen meditation), this is fine with me, but i love Samyama and I Am meditation, which i had to take a long break from (could not manage the energy, very sensitive girl !.

I have just begun the Zen and usually follow with a session of Samayama.

The list for Samyama contains some items that are self-made, a few from the advanced list and the rest Yogani's basic/starter's list...I am probably already in trouble here!).

I have decided to be brave and include it:

Loving-Compassion

Health

Abundant Wealth

Inner Sensuality

Brave-in-Strength

Integration (to support the ego-refinement work i am doing, but that i resist doing, a lot)

Advanced:

Inner Intuition

Elements : My school has had me doing a lot of work with them through mala repetitions already, for longer than two months)

Breath (may help with adjusting to mundane life (i am too spiritual!) and yet assure me that i am still free!

Questions:

Is there any harm in following Zen practice with Samyama?

Maybe it would be better to do DM and Samyama once per day and then Zen with Samyama, the other part of the day?