Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 what does inner silence feel like ?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

devrim

Thailand
33 Posts

Posted - Oct 04 2010 :  06:02:21 AM  Show Profile  Visit devrim's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
i have been practicing AYP for 3 years now with regular morning and evening practices, and although i have seen some lovely senery along the way i cannot say for sure if i have connacted that inner slience we are suppose to be getting in touch with in DM.
life is good, energy levels good and i feel stable and balanced, however i still feel unsure if the inner slience (witness) is there or not. of course i realize that the witness is beyond a mental state, but i would appriciate some helps with this.

Zelebe

Netherlands
35 Posts

Posted - Oct 04 2010 :  07:04:46 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi there Devrim,
I don't practice AYP that long, but also have attended a Chinese Zen retreat. What I consider to be the inner silence, is that you don't get carried away with the data your (inner and outer) senses provide you with. Probably you have already a degree of inner silence, but don't recognize it as such.

Edited by - Zelebe on Oct 04 2010 08:26:02 AM
Go to Top of Page

Clear White Light

USA
229 Posts

Posted - Oct 04 2010 :  07:12:05 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi devram. It's hard to say what inner silence "feels" like, because once you've noticed it, you're not in it anymore. It's simply the absence of thoughts. One way you can tell that your inner silence is increasing is by noticing that your thoughts seem to have less effect on you than before. They seem to be more distant, and less personal. They are observed merely as a happening, without being attached to your sense of self.
Go to Top of Page

jeff

USA
971 Posts