AYPsite.org Forum
 Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Breath regulation causes me severe discomfort
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

IcedEarth

73 Posts

Posted - Oct 29 2009 :  3:03:13 PM  Show Profile  Visit IcedEarth's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Every time I practice spinal breathing, or any other breathing exercise, I am beset with a great deal of psychophysiological problems. I have been experimenting with practices for the past four years, and I discovered AYP three years ago. It is utterly frustrating to not be able to practice any pranayama, since it is the most powerful tool of yoga.

Here are the uncomfortable symptoms I experience most strongly when I practice spinal breathing:
Immense tension headaches
dizziness
Tingling/hot/cold pains in the face and neck
Shakiness
Strong feelings of rage and anxiety, followed by depression and frustration

On days when I try to practice pranayama, symptoms generally taper off but may last throughout the whole day, and are mostly gone when I wake up the next day.

I recently stayed for a couple of weeks with a yoga teacher who has been practicing Kriya yoga for 20 years. I went to get help with this frustrating problem, and he gave me a couple of techniques to work with. He showed me the SRF energization exercises, which consist of lots of tension-relaxation of the muscle groups, accompanied with a double breathing technique. He also suggested daily fasting until noon, which I have been doing for the past month. The energization exercises have fixed most of my symptoms of discomfort, yet I still cannot practice seated pranayama comfortably.