Yamas & Niyamas - Restraints & Observances
 amaroli and periods
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Pinas

United Kingdom
3 Posts

Posted - Oct 14 2009 :  10:58:10 AM  Show Profile  Visit Pinas's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi there,

I have been practicing yoga for four months now, doing the starter asanas, pranayama and meditation twice daily and I have benefited from it greatly so far. I have also been doing amaroli first thing in the morning, usually at 6am, and I have been enjoying the benefits of this practice, too. I have only one concern however. The last three months my periods have been longer than usual, slower to start and less predictable than they used to be. Although this is not a major problem, I do find it slightly disconcerting to have lost what used to be a steady rhythm. And I wondered if this could be due to the amaroli upsetting my hormonal balance. I did some research online and everywhere I look seems to say amaroli is great for hormonal regulation. I am slightly confused. Six months ago I would have been fretting about it much more than I am at present - I do feel that the yoga is allowing me a much wider and clearer space to feel and think in.

And I wondered if any other women who use this site and do the practices had a similar experience, or could give me an idea as to why my body is reacting in this way.

Many thanks to everyone.

Shanti

USA
4854 Posts

Posted - Oct 14 2009 :  11:52:24 AM  Show Profile  Visit Shanti's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Pinas,
Welcome to the AYP forums.

I don't think your periods are getting irregular due to amaroli. You sure you are not stressed or are experiencing any changes in your life?

If you think it is amaroli that is causing this, you can stop amaroli for a few months and see if you get regular with your cycle again.
Go to Top of Page

brother neil

USA
752 Posts