AYPsite.org Forum
 Yoga, Science and Philosophy
 The Crown & The Sensory-Motor Cortex
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Akasha

421 Posts

Posted - Aug 05 2009 :  10:39:32 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
The crown,it's neurobiology, and the sensory-motor cortex.

Can anyone shed any light on this area?

I studied/used to practice a neuro-muscular discipline called Hanna Somatics invented by one Thomas Hanna based on his ground breaking book 'Somatics', after giving up on asana after a premature ( not sponataneous)K. awakening some 2.5 years ago(Nov 25th ,2006) before arriving at AYP .

I have read in the lessons the Crown located as the corona radiata

Right at the top of this are located two strips, sensory and then motor, that cross the middle of the crown from ear to ear, one in front of the other,right at the apex.

Here is a diagram of Sensory & Motor parts You can toggle on that site between 'Beginners' and 'Advanced','level of explanation' box, to get a primer on the different brain area roles, but you'll see that the Red band is Primary Motor.And there are other motor areas in Blue forward of that(e.g supplementary & pre-motor,i.e planning movments etc). But the Sensory strip coming first is marked there in Green ( in the front of the parietal lobe,named there as somato-sensory) and then the Primary Motor in red(at the back of the frontal lobe).