Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Misc. Stuff
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

RSS

USA
69 Posts

Posted - Mar 08 2009 :  3:28:24 PM  Show Profile  Visit RSS's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi,
I'm new to AYP (about a month). Came from an SRF (Yogananda) background. I think this website and the books are great. When I'm not working, meditating or running, I find myself on this site reading the lessons and Support Forums. I've been doing Spinal Bastrika (3min), Spinal Breathing (10min), Yoni Mudra (3 reps), and Deep Meditation (20min) twice a day. I just added the chin pump yesterday. I've got a few misc. questions.

Kechari: I've been stretching the tongue this past month and, with the aid of my index finger, can get it just under the uvula. Any idea how much further this has to go back? I haven't done any cutting - I'd rather not do that. Also, when I do spinal breathing, I put the tongue on the roof of the mouth as far as it will go. When I get done and release the tongue, there is a strange smell. The first time I did this, I thought that someone let the dog in the room. Is this smell normal. It's not offensive - just strange.

Running: Anyone have experience tracing the spinal thread while running. I guess this is kind of like Spinal Bastrika with slower breath while running. Would this be a bad thing to do? I did it during miles 11 and and part of 12 of a half marathon and that mile and a half flew by. Usually this is the hardest part of the race.