AYP Home | Main Lessons | Tantra Lessons | AYP Plus | Retreats | AYP Books
Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Forum FAQ | Search
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 AYPsite.org Forum
 Jnana Yoga/Self-Inquiry - Advaita (Non-Duality)
 self inquiry, emptiness, light, this & that
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

tadeas

Czech Republic
314 Posts

Posted - Nov 08 2008 :  5:19:42 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Since I started practicing yoga, I've been doing the neti neti practice (a form of self-inquiry) spontaneously and automatically. Always tracing causal relationships down to the root of identification with something. As time went on this "tracing" has refined into a letting go.

But why does there have to be a letting go? Why is there another contraction after the previous letting go? It's because of my old programming, attachements, barriers in the nervous system.

But it's getting better all the time and these repeated "contractions" have been occuring progressively less and less. And I've found that it's the witness emerging from everywhere. It's the shine :)

Although I don't stay (t)here all the time, it's always possible to enter again. While in neti neti, I would mentally do something equivalent to saying "not this, not that". Now it's more like accepting everything into myself, being it.

Sometimes I mentally help it like this. First, I say (or release, like a sutra in samyama) - emptiness. This is unbounded awareness, everything and nothing at the same time. Then I say/release - light. This is everything manifested, silent conscious presence, cosmos, movement of that.

It's sort of a mental nudge that I wanted to share :)

Next thing - a related note I made in September: