Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Do I need more purification before AYP?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

machart

USA
342 Posts

Posted - Aug 08 2008 :  10:52:59 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I'm a newbie to AYP but have been practicing asanas on and off since high school (I'm 52 now)..so I have not been the most dedicated yogi for most of my life but have gotten more serious in the last year taking classes at the Y and doing a lot of reading and researching while trying to practice some each day. Finding AYP has opened the door to meditation which I did not consider important enough before.

My question is that of AYP sequencing…beginning with deep meditation seems to thrust the practitioner into stage 5 and above of the ashtanga path from the get go. This seems to jump over most of the purification techniques that all of what I have read suggest are pre-requisites (ethics, strong body, breathe control, sense withdrawal….) so is it assumed that those that are new to AYP have had the necessary purification to start right into deep meditation? I know that spinal breathing is supposed to be the preferred purification technique of AYP but it is always suggested that if time is short do only the deep meditation which indicates to me that purification takes a back seat to meditation in all AYP practices.
Oh and by the way…I know that I need more purification since I still drink alcohol, smoke cigars, lust after women (mainly my wife) and eat too much (and I’m not talking salads here but meat, cheese and other tasty stuff)….So the main question here is should I modify the time for SB and DM to 20 -10 min versus the recommended 10-20 min since my need for purification is higher than the average AYP practitioner? I still like to do at least 30 min of asanas each day since my old knees won’t let me play tennis or run anymore to keep in shape.