AYPsite.org Forum
 Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Mixing meditation/traditions
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Rumighoul

11 Posts

Posted - Apr 11 2008 :  5:33:05 PM  Show Profile  Visit Rumighoul's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi everyone,
I hope this issue hasn't been addressed already, I couldn't find anything specifically answering my query.
I have been easing my way into the AYP programme for a few months, I don't find forming new habits easy, but I keep going eagerly because I've on and off had wonderful results with the Deep Meditation and Spinal Breathing. However I'm a curious and knowledge hungry chap and I'm interested in many traditions, to whit that I've also found myself studying basic Tai Chi (which is awesome) and more recently started attending a Sufi meditation group - something I've long also been curious in. I can see the danger of being pulled in too many directions (a problem generally with me - sometimes I think i'm interested in too much), so I am consciously trying to pair my practice down to the essentials.
My main question is this - do any of you forsee problems in practising two very different meditative 'paths' simultaneously i.e. the mantra meditaion of yoga and the Heart-based meditation of sufism? I feel I clearly see the benefits of both - the mantra meditation brings a blissful progressive inner silence of mind, whereas the sufi meditation is much simpler; the procedure is focussing on the heart in silence until a 'blessing' arrives, and it so far feels like a more mysterious and romantic experience like falling in love (i.e. less empirical and scientific than the yoga approach)*. I love both procedures and suppose I'll just have to keep doing both until it becomes clear if there's a problem, but I wondered if anyone else has any opinions or experience in this situation.