New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

CarsonZi

Canada
3189 Posts

Posted - Nov 05 2008 :  2:30:07 PM  Show Profile  Visit CarsonZi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Balance,

I think the use of the phrase "music stuck in the head" is just a cliche and doesn't really explain what is happening to some if not all of us here exlaining this issue. The music as you said is not literally "stuck in the head" and yes it is free to come and go....but in MY experience I can push the song out of my head, but as soon as I am not actively "pushing it out" it is right back in my "ears", not really the "head". I'm inclined to agree with Jill here in that this is probably an issue only for those who still identify greatly with their sense of hearing, but I could be wrong as I have no experience with NOT identifying with my sense of hearing. And it may not even be that I/we identify greatly with our sense of hearing but simply just that our sense of hearing is our most acute and therefore used sense. But regardless, I don't think the issue is really just that we are thinking that these songs are "stuck" and therefore are, but instead that it must have something to do with not being present in the now as for me as soon as I stop thinking about it, it comes back with a vengence. And I'm sure being a musician doesn't help any of this.

Love,
Carson
Go to Top of Page

Balance

USA
967 Posts

Posted - Nov 05 2008 :  5:42:23 PM  Show Profile  Visit Balance's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi CarsonZi,