Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 YOGA WORKS
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

LittleTurtle

USA
342 Posts

Posted - Nov 13 2007 :  5:01:58 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Yogani's AYP lessons and continual support thru email and the forums plus all the forum members/contributors are so wonderful! Everyday I feel more and more grateful for all of it. If I had stayed in SRF I simply would have stagnated and gotten bitter, filled with even more guilt. Now daily I feel I am advancing little by little. And sometimes in big jumps. A lot of what Yogani has taught I think I knew deep down inside and was just waiting for an external approval. (And I've been doing yoga in one form or another since about 1970). Thank you, thank you Yogani.

A couple of years ago I read Swami Ramdas's trilogy. The first book, In Quest of God is really a worthwhile read. Ramdas in 1920s India decided to become a sadhu and wandered India etc. ( I felt envious. Imagine. A sadhu in 1920s India riding the trains and visiting all the temples, the saints, the himalayas). All the while his sadhana was simply japa of "Ram". He attained a blissful state and saw God everywhere.

HOWEVER, it was a while before I realised that this guy had abandoned his wife and baby girl in order to take up his new life as a sanyasin. Despite pleas from the wife, Ramdas refused to come back, so the wife was forced to go back to her family for support. The child was essentially fatherless. Eventually the girl was married off at a young age.

This had a massive effect on me. Here's Ramdas blabbing in his diary about his visions and his blissful "God is everywhere" state, but he's really just another bum who decided he didn't want to be married after all!