Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Surrender - kind of important
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Eitherway

USA
100 Posts

Posted - Sep 17 2007 :  4:01:31 PM  Show Profile  Visit Eitherway's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi all,

I've been doing the ayp meditation and pranayama for about 5 months solid as well as samyama for around 3 months. I've had prana buzzes for a couple of years, especially when urinating, and they have gotten more frequent and a little more intense (in a good way) with the ayp practices.

Lately, it seems like inner silence is finally tuning into me. I'm a lot more patient and can generally view my thoughts and actions from what seems like a witness state. With the rise of inner silence, the idea of surrender seems to become more than a concept.

I grew in a muslim country and i remember being taught that the word Islam means surrender but it has always been a concept with the only active counterpart to it being the prostration we do during prayers.

Well now that inner silence is starting to wink at me, I can sometimes surrender to it. This happens especially during deep meditation. I still repeat the mantra and focus on it lightly but at the same time, I feel as if I can "let go" and do while continuing the repetition. The letting go or surrendering is difficult to describe in words but it seems as if there is a physical component, largely relaxing the muscles of the face and looking slightly up which leads to a throbbing sensation in the 3rd eye area, as well as a mental component.

Interestingly, the surrendering seems to enhance the inner silence while getting lost in thoughts and emotions does the opposite. I guess that makes sense. This is becoming true in life outside of practices as well.