Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Important Sutras
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Tam Phap

Canada
37 Posts

Posted - Aug 10 2007 :  2:14:15 PM  Show Profile  Visit Tam Phap's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
After reviewing the main sutras listed for Samyama practice, I have changed one of them (Unity) to Interbeing (I'm a long time student of Thich Nhat Hanh, who originally came up with the word) as it resonates better with me and I have also added both Gratitude and Forgiveness. As such, would you say that it is getting to be too many? Does it matter? By the way, thanks for writing the wonderful Samyama book Yogani!

Sparkle

Ireland
1457 Posts

Posted - Aug 11 2007 :  08:25:36 AM  Show Profile  Visit Sparkle's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Tam Phap

The nine sutras that Yogani suggests are presumably born out of his own experimentation and long experience.
When I looked at them first I was also curious about inserting different words and wondered about the selection.

I settled on the nine that Yogani suggests and they seem to work very well.
It seems nice to add something like Interbeing as this would be a direct link to your long standing tradition. In this way Yogani also suggests that samyama can be used with prayers and with words like Jesus or Divine Mother etc.

In the beginning however it might be advisable to try the nine recommended sutras untill you are stabilised in the practice of samyama. Once you feel the stability over a period then this is probably the time to experiment a little.

Wish you well
Louis
Go to Top of Page

Tam Phap

Canada
37 Posts

Posted - Aug 16 2007 :  12:57:37 AM  Show Profile  Visit Tam Phap's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply