Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 One foot in, one foot out.
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Jack

United Kingdom
305 Posts

Posted - May 10 2007 :  4:33:08 PM  Show Profile  Visit Jack's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
This is a vocalisation and exploration of material surfacing as a result of meditation practice. I'll say now its a bit of a rant/offloading on my part so only read on if you don't mind that. Advice is appreciated.

I will apologise now, for I know I will be unable to word myself well.

I have been meditating for around four years, since I was sixteen. The style of meditation has wobbled around a bit, between anapanasati, metta, using holosync, practicing yogic breathing and mantra techniques. And while I think the meditation and religious learnings have probably saved me from deep depressions in my life, they have frustrated my unskillful mind endlessly.

It is not an understatement to say that there is a bit of a contrast between a Buddhist lay life and the life of most people my age in this society (20). My meditation has really been bringing some issues around this whole thing up for me.

I like to go out, I like to see friends, I still like to have a couple of drinks at the weekend, I like to go to a good club night or outdoor/house party and dance into the morning. I like to 'have a laugh' and be sillly, play, act out, meet women, all of this. I avoid anything beyond a couple of drinks, and I avoid acting aggressively or in any way that will make others uncomfortable.