Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Mantra
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Leo

Italy
16 Posts

Posted - Mar 08 2007 :  08:18:38 AM  Show Profile  Visit Leo's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi everybody,
as the most of you , I started practicing AYP using the "I am" mantra.
I've been practicing for a few months. Now it seems that something has changed, in the sense that I feel strongly attracted by a new mantra which is not the usual "I am", but it's more like a sound, a very loud sound that reverberates throughout my whole body. I feel it coming from the deepest parts of my brain , the feeling is very good , peaceful and relaxing, and if I can tune to it, it's like my body starts to vibrate , in one sense it is like meditating with the whole body and mind, rather than the mind only. I only wonder if it is a good thing , that I should second , letting progressively slip my mind from "I am" to the new sound, or if I should treat it like a common intruding thought, and so gently go back to the "I am" mantra.
My feeling is that the sound in a good thing , so, if let alone, I would tend to second it, but the fact that it feels good doesn't necessarily mean it is good.
Any thoughts ?
thank you

weaver

832 Posts

Posted - Mar 08 2007 :  09:45:16 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Leo,

It's good to hear that your meditation is going well! As in your case, it's common that other feelings or sounds associated with it come up in meditation, and when they are pleasant it's easy to get attracted to them, and tempting to get involved with them. But, as you say, in the practice of deep meditation we just treat them as any common thought and easily go back to the mantra.

Go to Top of Page

Leo

Italy
16 Posts

Posted - Mar 09 2007 :  02:49:57 AM  Show Profile  Visit Leo's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Thanks Weaver,