Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Difficulty doing Mantra
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jillatay

USA
206 Posts

Posted - Mar 03 2007 :  10:45:55 PM  Show Profile  Visit jillatay's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
At times I have to pull myself back from "somewhere" and remember the Mantra. This morning it wanted to morph into "Amen" and then "Amusing" and I felt a bit confused as to where I was and what I was doing. It was hard to come back from the stillness. I just wanted to abide there but quit on time Also most of the time to say a Mantra feels pushy like I'm making the mind do some lower form of practice. I have experienced going beyond words and ideas in meditation before and I'm not sure if I'm not going backwards to take up what sometimes seems artificial. Can anyone tell me if I am doing something wrong? I have been practicing AYP for about two months now and definitely feel the energy surging and the inner silence calling at times. I like it but it just feels strange to use a Mantra having never done so before this.

Christi

United Kingdom
4429 Posts

Posted - Mar 04 2007 :  12:56:59 AM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Jill,
quote:
At times I have to pull myself back from "somewhere" and remember the Mantra. This morning it wanted to morph into "Amen" and then "Amusing" and I felt a bit confused as to where I was and what I was doing. It was hard to come back from the stillness.

It sounds like you are falling into the silence and then, coming back to the mantra even though you feel it would be more natural to stay in the silence. You may want to read this thread here, especially Yoganis' second post:
http://www.aypsite.org/forum/topic....C_ID=678#678
You may also want to check out Yoganis' reply here, and the preceding discussion:

http://www.aypsite.org/forum/topic....page=2#13876