Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Forum FAQ | Search
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 AYPsite.org Forum
 Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Is Distress a Symptom of Something Deeper ?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

NBN

USA
5 Posts

Posted - Aug 16 2022 :  6:20:01 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello all:

I'm posting this in order to try to understand and get feedback from those who may have had a similar experience.

A bit of background. I started my spiritual journey about 2.5 years ago with the AYP system. Since then, my routine consists of daily meditation mantra sessions, asana, and SBP, twice a day, six days a week.

I am a lawyer. Last week, I had a hearing before a judge in a case involving a client whom I represent. Needless to say, it was a very uncomfortable experience. It felt like he already had his mind made and it feels like I was fighting up a hill. It felt like he was very biased towards one side. I've had unfavorable outcomes in the past, in other cases, but they have all felt fair. Not this time.

The judge's eye rolling, smirk, exasperated sighs, and almost condescending attitude really affected me. At least, that was how I perceived and interpreted the event and his demeanor.

It is very possible that what I experienced was simply a mirror of what is inside of me--a reflection of the ego or emotional issues that require healing. Perhaps, it had nothing to do with me and that perhaps, the issue was really him. Nevertheless, I felt the emotional impact, which lasted for a full day, and I was surprise at how deeply and how long I was affected by the experience. It felt traumatic , almost a threat to an unnamed part of me.