Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Im new to yoga and AYP
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

a80b

India
5 Posts

Posted - Oct 22 2015 :  10:40:30 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi All,

Im a 35 year old male from Kolkata, India. Im currently working out of Bangalore. Im interested in taking up a practise to give my spiritual life a direction. However, theres a lot of pros and cons about every institute/organisations and so much spiritual lore on the internet that sometimes its difficult to separate facts from fiction.

Can you give me some pointers ? I have read about Shibendu Lahiri, Ashoke Chatterjee, Shailendra Sharma, SRF/YSS, Siddhanath, Sadguru, Sri Sri etc. I recently bought the Spinal Breathing Pranayama book from AYP.

Can anyone give me some personal experience with the above people/orgs ? Do their practices work ? How long it takes etc.

On a separate note, Have any of you heard of sivayoga.com ? Their lineage shows Thirumular as the guru of Babaji, and comes down to Sivakami Om Anandi to PSivapremanandaji.

Im looking for is a place to start my practices. Please help.

Thanks!

SeySorciere

Seychelles
1553 Posts

Posted - Oct 23 2015 :  12:09:47 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Dear a80b,

Welcome to the forums. This forum is a source of support to AYP practitioners so I would say start here:
http://www.aypsite.org/10.html
a very good place to start..

The lineages you have mentioned above are mainly Kriya Yoga and if you feel drawn to those - visit Other Systems and Alternate Approaches Forum further down the page. There is plenty of information there on Kriya.

Good luck on your path

Sey

Go to Top of Page

Dennis

USA
83 Posts

Posted - Oct 23 2015 :  02:03:38 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Dear a80b,