Other Systems and Alternate Approaches
 Spinal Breathing Pranayama vs. Microcosmic Orbit
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

SuperTrouper

USA
49 Posts

Posted - Oct 19 2015 :  12:27:38 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi there, y'all! Long time lurker/awkward commenter, first time poster.

I'll jump in immediately to the question, and then provide the background: What are your personal experiences of the long term use of the Microcosmic Orbit pranayama vs. the AYP Spinal Breathing Pranayama?

I have a lot of experience with different systems of kriya yoga, so I know from experience all of the benefits and drawbacks to each of them. None of them are perfect, they all have their plusses and minuses.

That being said, I've liked AYP the most, because it provides a significant pace of advancement without the irritability/"hot headedness" or 'brain fire', if you will, of the traditional kriya yoga pathway into the brain.

However, the AYP SBP leaves me with a dull brain feeling like I've got a brick wall in my forehead and all of my mental energy is being sucked down into this SBP path I'm creating, leaving me with a brain drain that suddenly magnifies in intensity whenever I have any type of social contact. Colloquially, this is usually referred to as "energy vampirism", but at this point I can tell this is definitely because of the practices, and not because of the people.

I don't have this problem with the spinal route that goes into the brain via traditional kriya yoga pathways. In fact, even though I'm an introvert, I become quite extroverted, loquacious, an intellectually nimble, despite that my meditations after these practices are not very good (I can't seem to focus on the meditation object and hit it squarely with calm attention, whereas it's very easy with AYP SBP).