AYPsite.org Forum
 Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Problems with my AYP practice
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

amiami

3 Posts

Posted - Oct 04 2006 :  4:16:20 PM  Show Profile  Visit amiami's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello everyone.

Thought I’d share my thought and dilemmas with you guys and get a discussion going...

So I started practicing AYP in June 2005 and have carried on quite nicely, twice a day. However there are issues I feel make my cultivation with AYP difficult. They are primarily 1)no direct instructions, 2)no fellow students (in personal human contact) whom I can learn from and increase my bhakti with, 3)a feeling like I’m a bit stuck and 4)if I’m honest, following a school that hasn’t been time tested/proved to be effective. By that I don't mean the practices themselves but rather how one follows the instructions without direct teaching and feedback, and how the practices are ordered and arranged.

I’ve been researching Kundalini and awakening and it seems like Satyananda’s Bihar School is one of the most respected in this. I’m not 100% that they do deep meditation but they seem to know what they’re doing and are quite respected (and scientifically researched by Hiroshi Motoyama).

I thought of following the instructions in the following two books and start attending their classes

'A Systematic Course in the Ancient Tantric Techniques of Yoga and Kriya' and 'Kundalini Tantra'

What do you think? Am I crazy to even consider moving away from AYP?

Andy

david_obsidian

USA
2602 Posts

Posted - Oct 04 2006 :  4:58:23 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
I'd invite others who know about Satyananda's school to chime in, because I don't.