Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Slow Progress
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Rod

France
8 Posts

Posted - Sep 25 2015 :  10:02:23 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi all,

I have been practicing deep meditation on and off for the past 2 years and although there have been glimmers of change I haven't noticed a great deal of progress. I have had varying levels of discipline within that period but certainly for the last 6 months I haven't missed a session of my twice daily, 20min dm.

I used to do a twice daily breath meditation and within the space of a few months my concentration was high(at least it felt so to me). My breath would more or less disappear all together. Problem was that then there was nothing to concentrate on. I ended up moving on and trying DM instead which appealed to me because of it's simplicity. I noticed a great deal positive changes during the breath meditation practice but it seems there was nothing more permanent because I feel I have gone backwards since then.

I had a phase of doing DM where it was quite pleasurable and I very much looked forward to it. This probably lasted a couple of months. I also had a phase where my head would want to lean right back almost to the point of it being painful. That phase also passed eventually. I also had a period of maybe a month where I seemed to be getting a consistent silence in my meditations. It is re-assuring that there has been something happening whilst meditating because I have noticed very little change in my everyday life.