Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 New comer to AYP looking for feedback
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

tua32581

USA
4 Posts

Posted - Jun 27 2014 :  10:51:01 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi fellow yogis,
This is my first post to the AYP site. A little bit about me; I'm 28, male, living in Philadelphia. I'm formally trained in the Iyengar method and have kept up a fairly dedicated practice of asana for the last 5 years. As my interest has grown I have began exploring other methods. The last few months i have been reading through yogani's lessons as well as listening to all the interviews. I've had some prior experience with pranayama and have kept up a dedicated practice for the last 4 months. everyday twice aday for about 10-20 minutes. Three weeks ago i added a DM practice. Prior to this i had not meditation practice to speak of. The last few weeks have been like scratching the surface of another world. I've had some fascinating expereinces with my practices and would like to get your feedback.

Here is what I've been observing:
1- During my DM practice last night I heard noises buzzing around my head. Tuning in deeper it turned out to be voices, different peoples voices, like as if i was flipping through TV channels and just hearing mindless chatter. I would say I heard them rather faintly and i didnt hear them in the pyschotic sense of "I heard voices and they told me to do something", thank god, lol. i didn't find this alarming and after a few minutes my mind settled down and the chatter disappeared. just wondering if anyone has experienced anything like this and if so, what is this?
am i a tuning fork and picking up other peoples conversations? was my mind bored and just creating some fluctuations to entertain me? Did i drink too much caffeine this morning? ;)