Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 up the spine
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

lmaher22

USA
217 Posts

Posted - Jan 22 2014 :  02:57:42 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have been meditating for about four or five years now and for almost that long 'belonged' to AYP. I have tried many times to get my spine to cooperate. Sadly, (if that's the right word)I always seem to find a 'block' mid way up my back, where I usually have pain when sitting anyway. No point here. Just an observation. Still, I have felt a change on my, what, perspective of the world? Sometimes I just have to remember that I got into meditation because I was absolutely miserable and looking for a way to be less so. I think that happened. Bless all you advanced people for your knowledge but in all honesty I think something inside me doesn't want me to get that far. Is it fear? Probably.

woosa

United Kingdom
382 Posts

Posted - Jan 22 2014 :  09:15:12 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Larry

Would it help if you directed your attention up and down your spine when you are not practising? When you go about your daily activities, watching TV, that sort of thing?

Doing that gives you plenty more time to get the pathway set rather than trying to learn it in a 5-10 minute window.

Just a thought. All the best!

Go to Top of Page

Yogaman

USA
295 Posts

Posted - Jan 22 2014 :  09:38:06 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
What is your sit routine, and how did you self-pace over the years?
Go to Top of Page

Shanti

USA
4854 Posts

Posted - Jan 22 2014 :  09:41:59 AM  Show Profile  Visit Shanti's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Good suggestion by Woosa, just make sure you are not syncing your breath with your attention when you are doing it outside your practice routine... that would be like doing spinal breathing all day.