Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Constant buzzing
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Birtley

United Kingdom
2 Posts

Posted - May 23 2013 :  6:10:39 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi I have been meditating for about 3 months, twice daily and enjoying the experience but since my tues session have been left with a constant low pitch buzzing located near my left ear. I can ignore it just about - but has been present constantly and is at best annoying and a bit worrying and distracting - have read the dm book and aware could have headaches etc but this seems unusual - wondering if I should stop meditating until it ceases or is this a known issue. When I mediate with the buzzing just treat it like a thought and favour the mantra - but would make me feel more comfortable if others have had this experience and the buzzing eventually ceased.

Christi

United Kingdom
4431 Posts

Posted - May 23 2013 :  6:54:47 PM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Birtley,

Yes, this is known about. It is a sound caused by the movement of prana (subtle energy) in the head. It is very common for meditators to be able to hear it and in fact there are schools of yoga which use this sound as their object of meditation. It does not last forever, and in fact for much of the time can be intermittent (some days it is there and other days not) which is why it is not used as a meditation object in AYP.

Christi

p.s. welcome to the forum.
Go to Top of Page

mathurs

United Kingdom
197 Posts

Posted - May 24 2013 :  05:41:34 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hello Birtley,
Welcome to the forum.
Go to Top of Page

Birtley

United Kingdom
2 Posts

Posted - May 24 2013 :  06:32:10 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply