Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Meditation.
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Brujoguy71

USA
16 Posts

Posted - Apr 12 2013 :  3:57:59 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have been practicing meditation now for over 20 years. Im always trying different techniques but sometimes i stick with 1 routine for months. When i first began meditation it seems like thats when it worked the best in my everyday life. Why is this? The first couple years i would do a lot of simple zen or buddhist meditation with my awareness on the rise and fall of the dan tien and it was so peaceful. After a few years this seemed not to work anymore almost like i was immune to it. Then i would add pranayama and kriya breathing to deepen my meditation and had various experiences but nothing ever beat the simplicity of basic meditation almost like the easier and more basic the meditation the better the results. Right now i would like to make a small routine and stick with this only for a couple years but after reading 1000s of books and learning all these techniques its so hard to stick with 1 easy routine only. How can i do this and does anyone have any advice or can recommend something for me to read? Thanks.

DoctorWho

USA
47 Posts

Posted - Apr 12 2013 :  4:59:00 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Brujo,

For me, there has been nothing more simpler and effective than what I found here at AYP. And with AYP...Deep Meditation is the core practice. No need to do more than that if you like. All other techniques can be added on later to enhance your Deep Meditation as you progress.