Discussions on AYP Pranayama, Mudras and Bandhas
 Kechari - Asking for directions
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

hridaya

Finland
6 Posts

Posted - Mar 21 2013 :  08:19:27 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello!

I've been practicing talabya kriya for a few years and making attempts at kechari for some time. Mostly I've been happy with my practice, feeling an increase in inner silence and stimulation of my third eye from kechari. Still, lately i've come to suspect that I might have taken a wrong turn somewhere. Especially after reading some posts around here. The image provided in the lessons http://www.aypsite.org/kechari_image1.html seems (to me at least) to show the tongue going back and up along the back side of the hard palate. But as I really don't have a good grasp of the anatomy and tend to have a knack for misunderstanding stuff, I thought I should just ask.

So, should the tongue go in between the hard and soft palate in kechari? Pushing forwards and kind of "down" my tongue easily reaches what feels like a septum that is way too sensitive to touch for more than a few seconds. Initially pushing my tongue in here felt kind of wrong, but is this still the right way? It feels more like going forward than up...

Victor

USA
910 Posts

Posted - Mar 21 2013 :  2:30:06 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
That sounds like the right track to me. The tongue should slide past the uvula and then forward above the hard palate until it touches that sensitive septum. The oversensitivity should go away with time and practice.
Go to Top of Page

Roberto

USA
33 Posts

Posted - Mar 22 2013 :  10:54:10 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Victor and Hridaya,

Victor: You are the Kechari Coach A few questions please: