Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 The "I am" mantra Vs....
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

WBG

United Kingdom
4 Posts

Posted - Mar 06 2013 :  10:06:30 AM  Show Profile  Visit WBG's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
It is very exciting and heart warming to be here on this forum.

I am a beginner in AYP and yoga in general however I did a 1 month intensive yoga retreat last year that included what they called Laya Yoga for our meditation practise.

We were given a "secret" mantra along with an initiation (touched on the forehead by the teacher if I remember right) and told to repeat the mantra internally in much the same way that Yogani instructs with I am. We were told it was important not to share the mantra with anyone else or it would lose its effectiveness.

I was using it daily until I came across AYP but now I dont know whether to use the mantra I was given (two sanskrit words) or I AM. They are so similar sounding although not identical. There is a clear, albeit subtle, vibratory difference.

My judgemental mind would have me believe that the Sanskrit mantra would have more power than the mantra made up of 2 English words. I have however read the forums here and can see clearly the I AM meditation works well :)

If i want to follow the full AYP would it be better to use I AM or stick with the other one?

Namaste
WBG

kami

USA
920 Posts

Posted - Mar 06 2013 :  4:30:55 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi WBG,
Welcome to the forums.

Actually, the "I AM" is not simply two English words, although it sure seems like it.