New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

pulgasari

Korea
16 Posts

Posted - Mar 05 2013 :  04:57:20 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
hi there,
i'm pretty new to ayp and i have been practicing the meditation every day for a few of weeks now however i'm having an issue with the mantra that i was hoping someone may be able to help me with.
i am finding that i start repeating 'i am' for a few minutes in my head, and then after a few minutes i try to allow the mantra happen by itself but then what always happens is that the mantra will first change from 'i am' to 'am' and then into a humming sound or sometimes a strange pulsing feeling in my head. and by the time this happens i am thinking that i am no longer thinking the mantra and i begin to think that i should reintroduce it.
so this is the question i have, should i reintroduce the mantra in a fresh form or should i just continue to follow the humming sound/pulsing sensation in my head

pulgasari

Christi

United Kingdom
4431 Posts

Posted - Mar 05 2013 :  05:17:28 AM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Pulgasari,

It is fine if the mantra changes during the course of the meditation. You can allow that to happen. Simply keep coming back to the mantra whenever you find you are off it.

It is here in lesson 13:

quote:
Do not resist if the mantra tends to become less distinct. Thinking the mantra does not have to be with clear pronunciation. I AM can be experienced at many levels in your mind and nervous system. When you come back to it, come back to a level that is comfortable, not straining for either a clear or fuzzy pronunciation.

The mantra can become a continuous sound or vibration, or become so faint you can hardly hear it. The procedure of the meditation remains the same.

Christi
Go to Top of Page

apatride

New Caledonia
94 Posts