Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Some questions about finger mudras
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Kosmoleo

USA
6 Posts

Posted - Feb 28 2013 :  12:05:47 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
What's up, I am kind of new to studying yoga and I am fascinated by mudras and beginning to study them very seriously and I have a bunch of good questions about them. Firstly I have read that the five elements are each related to one of the fingers. Most teachings say the thumb is related to fire, the forefinger to air, the middle to space or ether, the ring finger to earth and the little finger to was water. Yet I'm sure I read another teaching which related the forefinger to water and the little finger to air. Can someone with knowledge please clarify which teaching is correct, and why would there be another variation...?

Next is a few questions about specific details of practice I can't seem to find clarified in any teaching I've read. Most teachings suggest beginning with twenty to thirty minutes a day practicing a given mudra. Does that have to be in one sitting or can it be done at different times throughout the day with same total effect...? Also if you practice the mudra with both hands at the same time, is the effect increased or is it there same. Thanks for any knowledgeable replies. mudras

SeySorciere

Seychelles
1553 Posts

Posted - Feb 28 2013 :  12:17:36 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Dear Kosmoleo,

Welcome to the Forums.