Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Bija mantra versus IAM
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

firstworldchild

Australia
4 Posts

Posted - Nov 20 2012 :  03:57:21 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello!

I paid for instruction in meditation at through a vedic meditation school (TM). Anyway, on my quest for knowledge around meditation I came across Deep Mediation by yogani. I've been meditating for about 6 months now but have come to one question.

I was given a mantra by my teacher, which on further research looks as if it is one of the Bija mantras. We've been told not to write it down or anything and to keep it private. While I have felt some progress, everything I've read on this website suggests that I should use AYAM first and then progress to my mantra later on - it seems that my mantra has a specific use...

Does AYAM have a specific use as the uses for the bija mantras are described here. http://www.rudraksha-ratna.com/bija_mantra.php .

I'm also concerned that I shouldnt jump around and use different mantras but should follow through with one.. despite my mantra not neccessarily providing me with the feeling of "deep" all the time...

Sorry if this is a bit all over the place, just looking for a little guidance :) thanks!

Christi

United Kingdom
4430 Posts

Posted - Nov 20 2012 :  04:06:15 AM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Firstworldchild,

Welcome to the forum.

The mantra design for AYAM and the mantra extensions used in AYP are discussed in this lesson:

http://www.aypsite.org/188.html

Christi
Go to Top of Page

firstworldchild

Australia
4 Posts

Posted - Nov 20 2012 :  04:45:18 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Thanks Christi...