Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Loss of the witness!
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Stevo

Australia
4 Posts

Posted - Nov 04 2012 :  10:53:40 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi all,

I'm new to the AYP forums, however i've been a fan of the AYP books for a while now. I've been meditating for about 10 months doing deep meditation twice a day for 30 minutes each, focussing on breath, rather than a mantra.

Over the past month or so i have noticed the witness occurring for short periods on pretty much a daily basis. I've also had glimpses of a real inner happiness, which has been great! I was really happy with my meditation and the progress i was making, owever, for the past week there has been no sign of the witness! I've been trying to not get frustrated over this as that will only make it worse, but it's hard not too! I used to also be able to stay with the object of meditation for quite sometime during meditation. Since loosing the witness, i've lost all ability to concentrate, being lost in thoughts for the majority of a sit and throughout daily life as well.

Has anyone else had this experience of the witness disappearing?

Thanks in advance,

Stevo

Shanti

USA
4854 Posts

Posted - Nov 05 2012 :  07:24:59 AM  Show Profile  Visit Shanti's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Stevo,
Welcome to the AYP forums.

Yes, this is very normal. Just remember anything you experience is not permanent (that's why we call it scenery)... better to not get attached to it... does not mean it's gone away... either it is now hidden behind the curtains transforiming into another form, or it is already there in your life in another form and your mind hasn't grasped it yet, so you feel nothing is happening.