Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Re: Meditation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Narayani

Canada
14 Posts

Posted - Jul 13 2012 :  2:35:47 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I have been meditating for a few years. I am new to this meditation. I started it few days ago. Is it ok to repeat the mantra during the day (I am used to doing that previously). I know the recommended time is 20 min in the morning and then in the evening. Can I increase the time for 30 min? Can i sometimes meditation during the day? Thank you .Namaste

woosa

United Kingdom
382 Posts

Posted - Jul 13 2012 :  3:34:01 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Narayani

quote:
Chanting I AM is not recommended if you are using it in your daily meditation. The reason is that we use the mantra for going inward to stillness of mind and body. Chanting is an outside activity. We want the habit with the mantra to be going in. In time, you will think the mantra once and be gone into pure bliss consciousness. Your nervous system will become habituated to dive into the meditative state at the drop of a hat – a wonderful ability to have in this hectic world. If you love to chant, find something else to use. Chanting has its own benefits and is wonderful, especially in groups. Stick with using the I AM mantra for going in with the simple but powerful procedure of meditation. If you like to use I AM at bedtime as you go to sleep, that's okay, but keep it inside. Keep in mind it can be very stimulating for some people, especially as we further awaken kundalini. That could keep you awake. Of course, it is okay to use I AM in regular conversation. That is fine. That is on the level of meaning. Meditation is beyond verbal meaning, on levels of inner refinement of the vibration of thought where there is much more power.

http://www.aypsite.org/59.html