Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Is it worth it?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Maya

India
21 Posts

Posted - Mar 15 2012 :  1:05:53 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello

I'm new to this site and to this particular meditation. I was wondering what other people's experience is of this practice.

I have been doing some meditation regularly for about two years, with great results; pain relief with vipassana and other visible results with relaxation and visualisation. I have been trying out the law of attraction, by using appreciation, gratitude, etc... The results are a mixture. It has made a great difference to my moods during the last 3 months.

Last year, I tried this method for 4 months non-stop and found that my acne had gone completely, my nails grew like they hadn't in 20 years, I was sleeping deeply, as I had previously suffered from insomnia. However, the feeling from day to day was nothing special. I can actually make myself feel really good during the day when I practice appreciation and feel that I get better, tangible results.

Also, with all the mantra, pranayama and rest, it was taking me at least 1 hour and 20 mins daily, so a heck of a lot of time. It leaves me no time to do appreciation, so it's always been one or the other. I know I can do it during the day, but there's nothing like quiet time.

I'm trying this method again, as I feel like I was getting clearance, where other methods don't necessarily. (Acne, insomnia has returned). However, I tried qi gong for the insomnia and that's been working well. I must admit I want to get to the "silent" bit. I don't want my healing to be superficial, which LOA can be. I would like to heal from the inside, but not if it's going to be really painful or I'm going to commit suicide. Okay, I won't be around to complain, but I've got kids!