New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Stillpool

USA
39 Posts

Posted - Feb 12 2012 :  4:54:43 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Since I started practicing DM, which has been a number of months now, I have begun to have panic attacks. I experience uncontrollable anxiety that at times makes me certain I am having a heart attack and at other times certain that I am going stark raving mad. Like I have no control over my sanity. This has happened probably four or five times since they began last summer. Today was the first time that, as soon as I came out of a near blissful meditation, when I opened my eyes I immediately went into panic mode, rapid heartbeat, shaky legs, a feeling of suffocation and fear that I was loosing my body and sanity. This lasted about five or ten minutes then I felt fine, very energetic as a matter of fact. But I'm tired of the anxiety. If I stopped meditating would it go away? Am I just one of those people who should avoid such deep meditation? Or am I not getting enough strenuous activity between meditations? Can anyone help? Thanks for listening.

karl

United Kingdom
1812 Posts

Posted - Feb 12 2012 :  5:14:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Are you resting immediately after meditation? You shouldn't even open your eyes, lie back in corpse pose, let your body sink into the surface. Gradually open your eyes. You need a good 5 to 10 minutes.

Cut back on the meditation to 10minutes and add some spinal breathing before meditation.

Keep cutting back and increasing the rest period.

Get some excersise to ke you grounded. Just 30 minutes walk in the park maybe some light Asanas.
Go to Top of Page

AumNaturel

Canada
687 Posts

Posted - Feb 12 2012 :  5:43:37 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply