AYPsite.org Forum
 Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 From smooth to "clunky" sittings.
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

KellyN

75 Posts

Posted - Jan 03 2012 :  2:26:24 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello all, I have been meditating for the past three months, twice daily for 20 minutes, as instructed by Yogani in his AYP series. I noticed subtle changes in me soon after beginning my meditation practices. For instance, my desire to continue learning and delving into spiritual practices increased, I became observably more patient, and I have felt increasingly connected to others. These are all my natural characteristics, I speak of noticing a subtle increase in all these characteristics and additional positive energy. With that said, my meditation sittings were going relatively well until recently. I began pranayama about 1 month ago and that too was going somewhat smoothly. Lately, I have had mocking thoughts come up about meditation. I also seem to be repeating the mantra much shallower than in previopus sittings. I mean, the mantra seems like a thought that is superimposed on other thoughts that rise up...like background music, so to speak. I have not really felt like I am going deep at all in several days and I am wondering why. Can anyone help me make sense of this? My desire is still very strong.

Oh, I should also mention that there have been times lately when I simply do not place meditation in the forground of my attention. I allow for other things to get in the way and I skip a sitting, which is also very different for me.

Thank you,
Kelly

Edited by - KellyN on Jan 03 2012 2:32:23 PM

karl

United Kingdom
1812 Posts

Posted - Jan 03 2012 :  4:32:56 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome KellyN,

It's quite normal to go through periods of clunkiness and also periods in the doldrums after the initial bloom of progress.