Yoga, Science and Philosophy
 I don't remember how I got here ?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

karl

United Kingdom
1812 Posts

Posted - Dec 13 2011 :  04:36:00 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
This is going to be a bit rambling. This morning I had a Eureka moment as several things came together.

I don't remember how I got here? It sounds like an exercise in amnesia doesn't it?

I mean, yes, I got up this morning and everything is where I left it when I went to bed last night. So that's all fine.

Next, I certainly remember the many steps I took to be married and in this house and doing what I do for a living. So on that level everything is also just as expected.

Then I realised that I could remember nothing about who I actually was or where the world around me came from.

Of course, your going to say. Well what have we all been on about for so long. We know this. Consciousness arises from the I and so on and so forth. That assumes a stillness, a none entity, pure awareness, no film in front of the projector.

But it can't be right!

Here's the problem.

I can't remember how any of this came about and if I can't remember, something is odd. By rights, if I go straight from stillness to awareness to consciousness then I can flip the world. I should be able to change it completely simply by knowing. One moment Earth, the next somewhere totally different. Even if I wasn't able to change that, then at least to change my place in the world.

If the world I see is a reflection of that which I am then something is screwy. How is that I am always who I am. Why do I not wake up as a different person in another place each morning? It's like Groundhog day, with minor variations on a theme, yet it shouldn't be. I have no memory of the what, where and how of the macro universe yet I wake up recognising it every morning as surely as recognising my face in the mirror.