Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Forum FAQ | Search
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 AYPsite.org Forum
 Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Do you break the body in order to break the ego?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

breakbodyego

Australia
3 Posts

Posted - Sep 17 2011 :  12:49:22 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello all, i am a noob to yoga but have been researching spirituality and various traditions for many years now.

Lately, I have been coming to the realization that our bodies are in fact the main residences of our egos.

This is why the hindu ascetics have resorted to various painful yoga positions cos by inflicting pain on the body, it lessens the body's grip on your mind. It lessens the ego's grip on your mind.

Our bodies are cages which trapped our minds. In order to free our minds, we have to break our body cages.

Any opinions on this?

cosmic

USA
821 Posts

Posted - Sep 17 2011 :  01:58:23 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hey welcome to the forums, breakbodyego

quote:
Originally posted by breakbodyego

Our bodies are cages which trapped our minds. In order to free our minds, we have to break our body cages.

Any opinions on this?

The body is temporal and limited, so I don't see how it can contain something as unbounded as mind (or spirit for that matter). I see consciousness as the base, in which body, mind, life, the universe, and everything, all arise in.

If you wanna use the language of "cages", I'd say the mind (or ego) is the cage. But even that's an illusion. You are FREE as you are.

Great to have a fellow yoga noob here Enjoy your unfolding!

Peace
cosmic
Go to Top of Page

maheswari

Lebanon
2516 Posts

Posted - Sep 17 2011 :  02:06:29 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
quote: