Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 Multiple DM questions
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jasis

Germany
27 Posts

Posted - Sep 11 2011 :  03:45:07 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi All,

I have been practising SBP and DM for a few months (10 + 20, twice a day) and have a heap of questions. Please bear with me

Ok, here goes...

First is mantra repetition. I am using the 1st enhancement, so repeating " Sri Sri I am". I say the mantra and then let it go. At this point my awareness is, lets say "waiting for a thought to occur" so that I can notice the thought and then go back to the mantra. Is this correct ? I read in another thread here that one should gently repeat the mantra " back to back" so with no pause between repetitions. Which is correct, please?

2nd point... Sometimes I notice a thought (in words). More often than not I become aware of a scene, flying over a city, over the sea, looking at trees or flowers, you get the idea.. Does awareness of a scene ( scenery ) also constitute a thought? If a notice a scene then I realise I am again off the mantra, so I go back to the mantra.

3rd point, fuzziness of the mantra. Often I will start and the mantra is quite clear, though quiet. During the DM the mantra becomes almost just an intention, so I dont say it in my mind, rather intend it. Its like my mind makes a small ripple which is not vocalised and is the intention of the mantra. If I vocalise anything its usually just the first "Sri" and then rest is not even intended. Is this correct please?

Finally, I notice that during DM my head usually falls slowly down towards my breast bone. Sometimes I notice this and then start an internal discussion... "hmm should I raise my head" bah another internal analysis during DM