Discussions on AYP Deep Meditation and Samyama
 My experience with the I AM mantra
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Longrhythm

USA
1 Posts

Posted - Aug 13 2009 :  12:20:18 PM  Show Profile  Visit Longrhythm's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
First I'd like to thank you Yogani, I've been a long time student of the "change your practice every week" school, making lots and lots of lateral progress, and you've been the first to offer me something so effective in it's simplicity to make me want to settle in.

So now as the subject implies, here's what I've found to be going on with my mantra meditation.

Intent- Keeping the mantra in the foreground at all costs- what this is about to me, is not just focusing on the sound... playing with that has let me feel passive about it. Strong INTENT on keeping it front and center has had a totally different effect. Not my long accepted notion of meditation as a practice of cultivating calm, or any other emotional state. In actuality, sometimes embracing quite negative states. What I've found is that when I use this mantra and MEAN it. Any thoughts that I interrupt, I now own. The thing I've found about a wandering mind, is that I get lost. I focus on things outside of myself to the point that I forget that I'm the one thinking, that it's an active process. I forfeit control. Become victim to my surroundings. When I step into the middle of ANY thought process with a deliberate and meaningful I AM- suddenly those thoughts are just my thoughts again, not some reality that's bigger than me and I am a part of, contrarily just a part of me.