AYPsite.org Forum
 Yoga, Science and Philosophy
 Bob Dylan and Enlightenment
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

YogaIsLife

641 Posts

Posted - Nov 09 2008 :  06:51:59 AM  Show Profile  Visit YogaIsLife's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi,

This may sound like a stupid topic but I thought it was worth a shot

I was listening to Bob Dylan after many months again and that funny feeling I get from his music came back to me. It is mysterious and magic and special and uplifitng at the same time and it always gives me back this funny feeling. Like it taps into something deep somehow.

Well, me, I am new at this "spiritual practices business" and I have a tendency to want to unite everything, to find an unifying thread, a "theory of it all" kind of thing. I believe all is connected someway or another and special feelings arise when we understand the connections between things.

Well, since I always liked good, feeling-rich music, I wondered how this can relate (if in any way) to one's spiritual path and moreover, the spiritual practices, such as the ones in AYP. Well, it is probably easy to find a connection between music and spirituality in general (connection to the flow of life, the life-force wihin and everywhere, etc.) but from there to practices is another leap!

I mean, maybe this is the whole business of the sacred/profane dychotomy. When does one end and another start? Can they ever be unified? Ever? Why is there this dychotomy? Does it exist even or is it just an illusion?