Books, Web Sites, Audio, Video, etc.
 Heavy Music
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

CarsonZi

Canada
3189 Posts

Posted - Sep 25 2008 :  5:13:49 PM  Show Profile  Visit CarsonZi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello friends,

I wanted to start this thread to see if anyone else out there has had simliar experiences with heavy music that I have. I am a musician in every way except that I stopped making my own music about 3 years ago. I started playing piano and singing in music festivals at the age of 4 and when I moved away from home at the age of 15 I picked up the guitar. Then the drums, then the bass, then midi programming and sequencing and finally opening a recording studio at the age of 19 which was my main source of income for 7 years, and I still record for fun up 'till now. I have always identified with heavy music, starting when I was about 13 listening to Christian "Death Metal" and moving through all the heavy genres eventually ending up starting a "post hardcore/jazz fusion" band which did well for about 6 years. One day I ended my "music career", my relationship with my fiance of 8 years, and my 3 year addiction to methamphetamine and heroin after having a revalation, and ever since then my ability to enjoy heavy music has completely disappeared. But as of recently (maybe the last 2 months) I have been REALLY effected by the heaviest of music that I hear on the radio. (I still have not gone back to listening to my record collection) Some songs have sent me into pure kundalini exstacy, others have created heavy purifacation symptoms such as heavy emotional outbursts. (all crying ones) None of these situations have been preceded by anything other then a close identification with the lyrics of the song I am hearing. For instance I just heard a "Rage Against The Machine" song, the one that ends with chanting "F@#$ you I won't do what you tell me!" on the radio and as soon as the s