AYPsite.org Forum
 Satsang Cafe - General Discussions on AYP
 Starting sitting
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

k123

118 Posts

Posted - Aug 19 2008 :  1:10:28 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hello All,

I wanted to post how things are going. I am very new to this practice and am sitting twice a day for 20 mins. I have decided to be cautious and rest for 10 mins after each meditation. I am hoping this will help prevent too many overload symptoms, as I seem to be quite susceptible to these. In the past with mindfulness of breathing, I have got to the stage where I could not sit at all for a week or two and I would like to avoid this if possible.

I am supporting my back, which makes things more comfortable. I didn't feel right meditating in bed though, I am used to sitting on the floor. I have touched a silence a couple of times, but I also find that my mind goes wild with thoughts when I start the mantra. It can be hard to remember to just allow it all!

While repeating the mantra I can feel energy shifting in my body, mainly hands, feet, brow, neck and chest. A kind of moving pressure and shifting. Not unpleasant, but it certainly gets my attention.
During the day, I have felt physically more centred generally.

I am grateful for this forum and the posts and have been reading extensively. I received "The Secrets of Wilder" and am looking forward to reading this.

Another new experience for me is to not go rushing into things and try to be in control of it all

Ananda

3115 Posts

Posted - Aug 19 2008 :  5:08:52 PM  Show Profile  Visit Ananda's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
hi Kathy :),

seems that good things are happening keep on digging there is a lot more gold to be struck and you seem to have the bhakti for it.

search well and thou wilt find.

namaste,

Ananda
Go to Top of Page

mahabaratara

United Kingdom
92 Posts