Yoga, Science and Philosophy
 Permaculture
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Hunter

USA
252 Posts

Posted - Jan 27 2008 :  8:39:48 PM  Show Profile  Visit Hunter's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
This is just a fascinating subject which I am studying right now.
I am reading a book called Gaia's Garden A Guide to Home-Scale Permacultureby Toby Hemenway.

Quite simply, permaculture is about observing natural cycles and occurances and applying them to the garden and farm in order to promote healthy growth, maturity, efficiency, stability, fertility, self-sustainable plant systems (families), and so much more.
It is about learning and creating an endless amount of connections.
Hey! Perhaps that is a great way to sum it up. Permaculture: the study and application of connections.

It is amazing, you should see what people are creating with these principles and techniques. They are creating green paradises in the middle of the desert!

Of course the ideas of permaculture are far reaching beyond horticulture.

This permaculture created kind of a bridge for me and has helped me to realize how I can use my still, my silence to observe the world and create so many different connections. The possibilities are endless.
So this will be my new experimentation this year on the farm.

This can be applied to any subject you are interested in learning.
A nice subject to ponder in relation to self-inquiry, deep meditation, samyama...

Edited by - Hunter on Jan 27 2008 8:52:03 PM

AYPforum

351 Posts

Posted - Jan 27 2008 :  8:43:01 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Moderator note: Topic moved for better placement
Go to Top of Page

VIL

USA
586 Posts

Posted - Feb 06 2008 :  5:50:11 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
quote: