Yamas & Niyamas - Restraints & Observances
 Fasting - Distilled Water!
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

rkishan

USA
102 Posts

Posted - Oct 18 2007 :  7:40:25 PM  Show Profile  Visit rkishan's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
I am sure that this topic was discussed before. But I would still like to get the opinion about taking distilled water with some lime (to keep the ph or electrolyte balance?) during fasting.

I have been fasting (water only - 1 day a week) for the last 6 months. I did a 3 day water fast last month and this month. I used the tap water filtered with some lime as prescribed by a fasting naturopathy book that I read. This book also suggests to use only distilled water during fasting with some lemon juice on it to maintain the PH level.

I know that a lot of people including doctors believe that water fasting is unhealthy. I am convinced based on my experience in the last 6 months that fasting is greatly beneficial to me, health wise and also spiritually. The question that I have now is whether to use distilled water with lemon juice during fasting. I know that distilled water has no minerals on it. The book that I read about fasting says that the body can not absorb the inorganic minerals on the water. I am not so sure about this. I wanted to get the opinion of others who have long fasting experience.

Thanks,
Ram.

anthony574

USA
549 Posts

Posted - Oct 18 2007 :  10:21:19 PM  Show Profile  Visit anthony574's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
The sources i have used say distilled water too. i dont do it 100% but i do use distilled sometimes
Go to Top of Page

Etherfish

USA
3615 Posts

Posted - Oct 18 2007 :  11:46:40 PM  Show Profile  Visit Etherfish's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply