AYPsite.org Forum
 Other Systems and Alternate Approaches
 Christian beliefs and reincarnation
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Hannah

38 Posts

Posted - Aug 12 2007 :  12:52:16 PM  Show Profile  Visit Hannah's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Dear group -

I have no idea if this is the correct place to post this or not, so please forgive me if it's not. How does one respond in a loving way to the "threat" of "the Bible says, it is appointed unto man once to die and then the judgement, there is no Biblical reincarnation"?
I am no Bible expert at all, but I do seem to recall Biblical evidence of reincarnation, although the word reincarnation is not used. Help appreciated!

AYPforum

351 Posts

Posted - Aug 12 2007 :  1:11:08 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Moderator note: Topic moved for better placement
Go to Top of Page

Wolfgang

Germany
470 Posts

Posted - Aug 12 2007 :  2:05:06 PM  Show Profile  Visit Wolfgang's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Look up these bible passages:
Matthew 16:13-14, Matthew 17:10-13, John 9:1-2 and Revelation 13:10

IMHO they hint to the probability of reincarnation,
also, as far as I know, reincarnation was widespread in early christianity.

But the main point is: be careful not to get in a bible-truth-bashing mode,
which means: find out if your discussion partner is open to discussion.
If your discussion partner believes that the bible is the sole and only one source
of truth, then there is little point of discussing.

You may want to use the forum search function; there are loads
of interesting threads to this topic.

Love and Light
Wolfgang
Go to Top of Page

Sparkle

Ireland
1457 Posts

Posted - Aug 12 2007 :  2:33:28 PM  Show Profile  Visit Sparkle's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Hannah
The question I ask is what is the difference between Purgatory and Reincarnation?