AYPsite.org Forum
 Yoga, Career and Money
 Balancing business and spiritual life
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author  Topic Next Topic  

compassion

90 Posts

Posted - Aug 15 2024 :  4:36:53 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Message
Hi Folks,

Some background: I have been a private music teacher for a while. I'd had a dream for a long time of managing my own music school. Well one thing lead to another - there is a music studio with other teachers working, and I have my own students whom I teach from home. However it's been much more work than I anticipated.

I still have time to meditate twice a day, to walk in nature, and spend weekends with the kids. But I often feel like I'm burning out and emotionally drained.

Yes, there might be solutions, such as hiring someone to help with the admin. But I just feel like I'm digging myself a bigger and bigger hole.

Looking back, there was nothing wrong with being a humble music teacher, just with private students. I had a lot of free time. I'd have more time for yoga, studying texts, etc.

What is the right way to approach a situation like this? I'm familiar with karma yoga, but translating that to my situation seems difficult. Am I taking on too much for a yogi to handle? Is the stress a hindrance on the path? Should I be working only enough to live by? Or is any situation fine as long as I'm meditating twice a day?

All thoughts and perspectives welcome!

Christi

United Kingdom
4487 Posts

Posted - Aug 15 2024 :  5:12:34 PM  Show Profile  Visit Christi's Homepage  Reply with Quote  Get a Link to this Reply
Hi Compassion,